Tuesday, May 24 2022
download app
download appDOWNLOAD OUR APP
download google-play
download app-store
Anjum Shabbir
16th April 2020
Covid-19 External Relations & Trade Institutional law

Action Plan for greater cooperation in the Danube Region

An old Strategy for greater cooperation in the Danube Region, which includes Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia, Slovenia and Romania, as well as non-EU countries Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia and Ukraine, has been revived (see this Commission Communication – EU Strategy for the Danube Region of 2010 and these Council Conclusions of 2011).

The need for cooperation arises from challenges including environmental threats, insufficient energy, transport and shipping connections, uneven socio-economic development, and problems with education, research, innovation, safety and security.

Today the Commission has announced that it welcomes this revised Action Plan of the EU Strategy for the Danube Region, which provides a cooperation framework for countries referred to above and adds new strategic actions for EU policy implementation, based on the initial 2010 plan. It also takes into account new Commission priorities – including the Green Deal, sustainable development, digitalisation, migration and demographic change, and also measures to support SMEs and the tourism sector (which are expected to suffer severely as a result of the current COVID-19 crisis).

Read more about the Cohesion Policy and revised Strategy here.


Your privacy is important for us

We use cookies to improve the user experience. Please review privacy preferences.

Accept all Settings

Check our privacy policy and cookies policy.