October 27
Anjum Shabbir
25th August 2020
External Relations & Trade

Illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol: EU High Representative notes alignment of third countries with EU’s sanctions

The EU’s High Representative for Foreign Affairs has issued a Declaration welcoming the commitment of certain non-EU Member States to align themselves with EU sanctions  imposed due to the Russian annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol, and which were extended until 23 June 2021 under Decision 2020/850 (adopted on 18 June 2020):

  • Montenegro,
  • Albania,
  • Iceland,
  • Norway,
  • Ukraine, and
  • Georgia.

Economic sanctions were first introduced in 2014 by Regulation 833/2014 in view of Russia’s actions destabilising the situation in Ukraine, on activities between EU Member States and Crimea and Sevastopol. More general sanctions against Russia were also applied in June 2020.

The Declaration can be read here.


Your privacy is important for us

We use cookies to improve the user experience. Please review privacy preferences.

Accept all Settings

Check our privacy policy and cookies policy.