Tuesday, May 17 2022
download app
download appDOWNLOAD OUR APP
download google-play
download app-store
Daniel Sarmiento
8th October 2021
General Development

Partial renewal of the Court of Justice and reelection of President and election of Vice-President

The Court of Justice was partially renewed as of yesterday, 7 October 2021, with the departure of nine Judges and Advocates General and the arrival of nine new members of the Court.

The departing members of the Court are Ms Rosario Silva de Lapuerta, Mr Michail Vilaras, Mr Endre Juhász, Ms Camelia Toader, Mr Daniel Šváby, Mr Henrik Saugmandsgaard Øe, Mr Michal Bobek, Mr Evgeni Tanchev and Mr Gerard Hogan.

The new Judges of the Court are Ms Maria Lourdes Arastey Sahún, Mr Zoltán Csehi, Ms Octavia Spineanu-Matei, Mr Miroslav Gavalec and Mr Dimitrios Gratsias, for the period from 7 October 2021 to 6 October 2027.

The new Advocates General of the Court are Mr Anthony Michael Collins, Ms Laila Medina, Mr Nicholas Emiliou and Ms Tamara Ćapeta.

The streamed online version of the ceremony is available here.

Today, 8 October 2021, Mr. Koen Lenaerts was reelected President of the Court of Justice and Mr. Lars Bay Larsen was elected Vice-President of the Court of Justice.

The press releases are available here and here.


Your privacy is important for us

We use cookies to improve the user experience. Please review privacy preferences.

Accept all Settings

Check our privacy policy and cookies policy.