January 25
Anjum Shabbir
12th January 2021
Employment & Immigration External Relations & Trade Institutional law Internal Market

Rights of UK nationals in Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway post-Brexit: ESA monitoring

The EFTA Surveillance Authority (ESA) has announced that from 1 January 2021 it has been, and will be, responsible for checking that the rights of UK nationals are respected in Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway (the EEA EFTA States) in the post-Brexit context.

These review powers have been granted by the Separation Agreement signed on 28 January 2020 between the UK and the EEA EFTA States to address the fact that the UK is no longer an EU Member State. Covering issues largely similar to those in the UK-EU Withdrawal Agreement, the Separation Agreement regulates the rights of EEA EFTA and UK citizens who reside in each other’s territories, having exercised the right of free movement under the EEA Agreement (namely citizens’ rights,


Your privacy is important for us

We use cookies to improve the user experience. Please review privacy preferences.

Accept all Settings

Check our privacy policy and cookies policy.