January 23
download app
download appDOWNLOAD OUR APP
download google-play
download app-store
Anjum Shabbir
29th January 2020
External Relations & Trade

Separation between UK and Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein

The British Government has published a notice that Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein signed the EEA EFTA Separation Agreement with the UK yesterday, 28 January 2020, and that it largely mirrors the Withdrawal Agreement negotiated with the EU.

The issues covered in the agreement will be similar to those in the Withdrawal Agreement and are stated to be arrangements on goods placed on the UK or EEA EFTA markets, intellectual property, ongoing police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters, data protection, public procurement, and ongoing judicial procedures.

EFTA’s official website has described this as an agreement ‘to continue the rights of EEA EFTA citizens living in the UK and UK citizens living in any of the EEA EFTA States as the UK exits the European Union. The agreement is primarily concerning the rights of EEA EFTA and UK citizens who have made a home in each other’s countries as a result of the right of free movement under the EEA Agreement’ .

The gov.uk website offers the December 2018 version of the agreed text in a Word document, accessible here, and it is also available on EFTA’s website here.


Your privacy is important for us

We use cookies to improve the user experience. Please review privacy preferences.

Accept all Settings

Check our privacy policy and cookies policy.