December 01
Anjum Shabbir
30th July 2020
Covid-19 External Relations & Trade

Third update to non-binding EU list of third country residents who can travel to the EU

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the internal and external borders of the EU were subject to controls as a measure to limit the spread of the virus. On 16 March 2020, a Commission Communication recommended a temporary restriction of all ‘non-essential’ travel from third countries into the EU’s borders, which was implemented the following day by the EU Member States, and then extended several times (see also the Commission’s Communication of 11 June 2020).

An approach was set out to gradually lift the restrictions on travel into the EU as of 1 July 2020, and an initial list of countries from which travel was allowed into the EU was set out in a non-binding Recommendation from the Council of the EU, subject to fortnightly reviews, an update having being made on 16 July.

Another update has been made today, for the gradual lifting of travel restrictions for residents of:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

The United States, Brazil, India and Russia, are still not on the list. Serbia and Montenegro, which were on the initial approval list, have been removed.

Read the Council’s press release here, and for an explanation of how the decisions are made and the exceptions that apply, see our earlier News updates of 1 July and 17 July.


Your privacy is important for us

We use cookies to improve the user experience. Please review privacy preferences.

Accept all Settings

Check our privacy policy and cookies policy.